Navigation
  • DE
  • EN
  • FR
Logo Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVRLogo Landschaftsverband Rheinland

John Kasnetsis, Dorothea Tanning and Max Ernst with the sculpture 'Capricorn', Sedona, Arizona, 1948, photography, Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVR, Max Ernst Foundation, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022 for Max Ernst

Image. Max Ernst in Photographs

Exhibition from January 15 until April 23, 2023 (New Runtime)

Next to Pablo Picasso and Andy Warhol, Max Ernst is one of the most photographed artist personalities of the 20th century. He was portrayed under various circumstances and in a variety of contexts. Private snapshots, classic portraits and posed arrangements with artist friends tell of his multifaceted personality and his colourful artist life.

The spectrum of the around 150 selected images, which originated at various times and occasions, provide a photographic perspective on his life, which was marked by his personal experience of two world wars and historical upheavals, by changes of location and his involvement with the group of Dadaists and Surrealists, first in the Rhineland, then in Paris, later in exile in the USA, as well as in Europe.

The exhibition revolving around the representation of Max Ernst in the medium of photography presents the extensive collection holdings of the museum with photographs from, among others, Berenice Abbott, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Lebeck, Lee Miller, Irving Penn and Man Ray, for the first time including an endowment of the artist Dorothea Tanning, the fourth wife of Max Ernst.

Subject to change!

Logo Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVRLogo Landschaftsverband Rheinland

Fotografie von Dorothea Tanning und Max Ernst mit der Plastik 'Capricorn' in Sedona, Arizona

John Kasnetsis, Dorothea Tanning und Max Ernst vor der Zementplastik 'Capricorne' von Max Ernst, Sedona, Arizona, 1948, Fotografie, Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVR, Stiftung Max Ernst, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022 für Max Ernst

Image. Max Ernst im Foto

Ausstellung vom 15. Januar bis 23. April 2023 (Neue Laufzeit)

Max Ernst gehört neben Pablo Picasso und Andy Warhol zu den meist fotografierten Künstlerpersönlichkeiten des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er ist in unterschiedlichen Lebenslagen und Kontexten abgebildet worden. Private Schnappschüsse, klassische Porträtaufnahmen und inszenierte Arrangements mit befreundeten Künstler:innen erzählen von seiner facettenreichen Persönlichkeit und seinem schillernden Künstlerleben.

Das Spektrum der ausgewählten rund 150 Aufnahmen, die zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten und Anlässen entstanden sind, eröffnet einen fotografischen Blick auf sein Leben, das durch die persönliche Erfahrung zweier Weltkriege und historischer Umbrüche, durch Ortswechsel und seine Beteiligung in der Gruppe der Dadaist:innen und Surrealist:innen zunächst im Rheinland, dann in Paris, später im Exil in den USA sowie in Europa gekennzeichnet ist.

Die Ausstellung zur Darstellung von Max Ernst im Medium der Fotografie zeigt die umfangreichen Sammlungsbestände des Museums mit Fotografien von u. a. Berenice Abbott, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Lebeck, Lee Miller, Irving Penn und Man Ray, darunter erstmals eine Schenkung der Künstlerin Dorothea Tanning, der vierten Ehefrau von Max Ernst.

Die Ausstellung wird am 14. Januar um 19 Uhr eröffnet. Dazu laden wir Sie herzlich ein! Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Änderungen vorbehalten!